Surviving Friday The 13th: Does Luck Even Exist?

I write this whilst being cooped up in my house as I purposely try to avoid coming into contact with the outside world as much as possible on this frightful night ( just kidding, staying home all day wasn’t a deliberate choice- my sad and pathetic self had nothing better to do on a Friday night ).

Friday the 13th scares me no more or less than every other day of the year does. I’ve never considered myself to be superstitious, which I find pretty interesting considering the fact that I was brought up by a family that never let me put my purse on the floor in fear of ending up broke ( news flash mom, I’m already broke). Don’t get me wrong, I’m not an idiot with a death wish, so you’ll never see me open an umbrella in the house. But, at the same time,  you’ll also never see me try to avoid coming into contact with a black cat. What’s more likely is seeing the cat try to avoid me at all costs,  as I chase it down the street ( I swear cats love me).

So, what’s the big deal with all these superstitions anyways? What is it about Friday the 13th that makes people’s skin crawl? The answer is simple- fear.

But, fear of what exactly? Of having “bad luck”? When you live a life filled with as much shit as mine, you start to realize that there’s no point in fearing a single day out of the year. “Bad luck” finds me on the other 364 days too , so what’s there to be afraid of?

I wouldn’t consider myself a lucky or unlucky person, mostly because I just don’t believe that such a concept exists. I mean, sure , sometimes I find random money in my jean pockets- but that’s not luck-that’s my forgetfulness and laziness to put away my shit. On the other hand, most times I’ve ever made a bet with someone, I’m always on the wrong side, but that’s not luck either- that’s the simple fact that I’m just stupid and have a really really bad tendency to believe in the impossible.

Maybe I’m wrong. Maybe luck is a real thing and my entire existence has been cursed. Whatever the case, I choose not to believe in “luck”. What I do choose to believe in is myself.

I’ve said this time and time again-life is characterized by highs and lows, good and bad. Some days you’ll feel like you just found a four leaf clover, while others will feel like you must’ve broken hundreds of mirrors in a past life ( which, with my face, is pretty damn likely).

The way I see it, luck is just a way to shed away from our personal sense of accountability. It provides us with a sense of comfort- a sense of relief in “knowing” that something other than our own actions are to be held responsible. To me, luck isn’t something that you’re given- if anything, it’s something that you create! Making bad choice after bad choice is probably going to leave you in some “unlucky” situations. Going to Vegas and losing 10K doesn’t mean you’re unlucky- it just means that maybe you shouldn’t have dropped 10K in the first place. At the end of the day, we have to hold ourselves accountable for the lives we live- both good choices and bad ones.

So, next time you go looking around the mall to find “lucky pennies” ( me and my best friend actually spent an entire day doing this once), try to think of things you can do that will make you feel like the luckiest person alive. Do good to others, go out into the world and find what makes you happy or focus on ways you can positively impact your life and you’ll realize that you don’t need to be “lucky” to find the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow- you just need to be the best you possible.

8 thoughts on “Surviving Friday The 13th: Does Luck Even Exist?

  1. Hahaha, there is so much humour in your writing, lol I was laughing half the time reading this! Especially the cat avoids crossing your path, part😂😂
    But yes, agree with the message there, one should believe in oneself and be good to others, that is far efficient and kind approach to being successful and happy in life than blaming everything on luck.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A few years ago, I was told that the 13th day of any month has the highest probability of falling on Friday. Of course, I woundn’t believe that unless I check it myself. So, I did the calculation and what a coincidence! It’s true :).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! I laughed a lot especially at the part where you talked about you chasing cats down the street (it’s a funny thing to imagine!) 😂 and it’s very true what you said – we can be the ones who make a difference by making others’ day! 😊 I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

