Lesson #15 : Never Enough ?

​First things first , Happy New Year ! I really wanted to get these posts done before the end of the year , but being the procrastinator that I’ve always been , I knew that was never going to happen. In my defense , this next lesson is something that I legitimately learned in the last few minutes of 2016. 

Last night I spent New Years Eve with my best friend,  her boyfriend,  (#foreverathirdwheel) , and her family. I’ve been spending about the past 4 New Years Eve with her and her family , who introduced me to a tradition of making 12 wishes for the upcoming year before the clock strikes twelve. 

In typical “me” fashion , I left the wish making to the last 10 minutes possible.  Every year , I have such a hard time thinking of what I want to wish for. I mean, some are easy to come up with , but it’s not like I can write ” get a boyfriend” or “get a cat” for every single one of them. 

Once I get passed the usual wishes for good health and happiness for all my loved ones , my mind draws a blank. And I think I finally understood why. 

We always focus on wanting more.  We wish for winning that life-changing lottery, or that fancy car we’ve always wanted , or that dream vacation we so desperately need. And sure , all of these things would be amazing , but are they truly necessary? 

The last 10 minutes of 2016 showed me that it was so hard coming up with wishes because a lot of what I’ve always wanted ,  I already had with me. 

LESSON #15: IT’S EASY TO GET CAUGHT UP ON ALL THE THINGS THAT WE ARE MISSING IN OUR LIVES- TO FOCUS ON WANTING MORE AND MORE. WHILE THERE’S NOTHING WRONG WITH WISHING FOR WAYS THAT WE CAN IMPROVE OUR LIVES , WE OFTEN FORGET TO APPRECIATE THE THINGS THAT WE ALREADY HAVE WITH US.

Last night , I was truly happy. I was surrounded by some of my favourite people ( and puppy) , laughed my way through the night , and not to mention, had my best friend ( *cough cough* alcohol) with me . 

So sure , there are things out there that would probably make me even more happier,  and I’m sure one day those things will find a way into my life too. But for now, I think I’m pretty blessed.  

Leave a Reply

