Lesson #9 : Happily Never After 

With New Years Eve tomorrow, I thought I’d make sure to dedicate at least one post to my favourite topic in the world – love. For as long as I can remember , I’ve been a sucker for a good love story             ( honestly , I think I’ve read every single one of Nicholas Sparks’ novels) . Ever since I was little , I’ve been THAT girl – you know,  the one who has their wedding all planned out , the one that dreams of being kissed at midnight on New Years in Times Square as the ball drops, the one who, despite disappointment after disappointment, still believes in finding a soul mate.

Being a hopeless romantic is just a part of who I am , and despite all the shit my best friend gives me because of it , I’ll probably never change that part of me (especially not the HOPELESS part). So , tomorrow, while everyone else is getting their Cinderella moment once the clock strikes 12, I’ll be getting drunk. Again.

I’m okay though. I’ve survived 19 other lonely New Years and Valentine’s Days and Christmases….( Side note : why is there not at least one holiday out there whose sole purpose isn’t to make single people feel like shit ?!) . For years, my best friend has been trying to get through my stubborn head that your happiness shouldn’t depend on someone else. That before you can focus on having a relationship with another ; you have to make sure you’ve somewhat perfected your relationship with yourself. And , I think in 2016 I finally understood what she means.

LESSON #9 : BEING ALONE IS NOT THE END OF THE WORLD. YOUR PURPOSE IN LIFE SHOULDN’T BE TO FIND “THE ONE”- IT SHOULD BE TO FIND YOURSELF. 

I’ve put such a priority on finding love that I forgot that it really isn’t the be all and end all of life. Don’t get me wrong , I still WANT to end up with someone who inspires me to be the best I can be and who makes me happy, but I no longer think that it’s something I NEED.  

For the first time in awhile , I truly feel okay with being by myself. I don’t need a relationship to make me whole. What I need is to go out there in the world and focus on creating a life that makes me whole. And sure, maybe Mr. Right will be part of that life , but so will my family,  my friends, my passions and my dreams ( and hopefully a couple cats too). 

One thought on “Lesson #9 : Happily Never After 

Leave a Reply

