Lesson #14: The Voice Inside Your Head 

Ever been in a situation that just didn’t feel right ? How about being unable to shake a feeling that things are somewhat off ? Or my own favourite- being with a person that just makes you feel wrong ? 

I think we all crave some sort of guidance and comfort in knowing that what we are doing is what we should be doing. Some of us find this sort of reassurance from others, some find it in their beliefs and some just don’t find it at all. It’s funny though , because I think what we’ve been asking for , we’ve had with us all along. 

Before this year , I never really believed in trusting your gut or believing in the powers of your intuition. However, as the year progressed I found myself in situations that I just knew weren’t meant to be. But of course , being the stubborn little shit that I am , I didn’t listen to my inner voice. I tried to block out what I knew in my heart just wasn’t right and ended up lying to myself in the process. In hindsight , I wish I hadn’t brushed off these feelings of caution and uneasiness , because following the happy go lucky pattern of my life thus far , things didn’t end well ( *gasps* what a surprise) . 

LESSON #14 : LYING TO YOURSELF IS ONE OF THE MOST DESTRUCTIVE THINGS YOU CAN DO. TRUST YOUR HEART AND LISTEN TO THAT INNER VOICE OF YOURS – THEY KNOW MORE THAN YOU THINK. 

Whether it be a relationship you know you shouldn’t be in anymore , or a career path that just isn’t complementing of who you are as a person , don’t fight what you know deep down. The longer you prolong things that just shouldn’t be , the less time you are giving yourselves to find the things that should. 

Leave a Reply

