Lesson #8: The Explorer In All of Us

Today, my best friend and I were talking about how fast life keeps creeping up on us. The end of the year is almost upon us and as much as I talk shit about 2016, I’m actually quite sad it’s all over. If you’ve read my previous posts, I’m sure that by now you have got a clue about just how shitty this year truly was. In all honesty, however, I can easily say that this year has been one of the most fun. 

Although I’m definitely what you could call a textbook introvert , I love going out and doing things. Staying at home all the time literally drives me insane ( I should know-I’ve spent most of my life inside the same four walls). But at the same time , I’ve always been someone who has been scared to go out into the world blindly to explore new things. My fear of failing has usually convinced me out of trying anything different.  But , this year something changed.

In 2016, I decided to channel my inner “Dora the Explorer” and live outside the box. Don’t get me wrong , I didn’t become Christopher Columbus overnight, or ever for that matter ( heck, I didn’t even go anywhere further than 2 hours away from my hometown), but slowly yet surely I tried things I never would have thought I had the balls to do. Whether it was trying out a Beginner Beyonce dance class for the first time  ( that wasn’t so beginner fyi) or eating kangaroo , 2016 was definitely one for the books.

I was introduced to people this year who inspired me to break out of my shell and let go of my worries. People who motivated me to live and  think in completely different ways. People who showed me that things don’t always have to go according plan to work out. People who taught me that…

LESSON #8: SOMETIMES THE BEST THINGS HAPPEN WHEN YOU “GO WITH THE FLOW” AND BREAK OUT OF YOUR COMFORT ZONE.

I used to think that taking things day by day was such a worrisome way to live your life. But , what I found was the complete opposite- being spontaneous and up for a little adventure made me feel more alive than I’ve ever been.

One thought on “Lesson #8: The Explorer In All of Us

Leave a Reply

