Lesson #3: Elephant in the Room

Have you ever played truth or dare, chosen truth thinking it would be the easy way out and then immediately regretted it once the question is asked? Like fuck, I would have much rather chosen dare and ran around my block naked than answer this.

I like to think that I’m a genuinely honest person. My guilty conscience goes up the roof even when I make the tiniest of lies. Let alone, I can’t lie for shit- perks of turning tomato red in the face 24/7 (thanks genetics). Nonetheless, while I might not overtly lie to others about little day to day things, I can’t say that I always overtly tell the truth either. And let’s not even get into the fact that I usually lie to myself the most ( we’ll keep that topic for another day).

So why  can’t I face the truth when it comes to the important things? Why do I run away from it every single chance I get? Well, for one its way easier. Let’s face it- more times than not the truth fucking kills. I don’t want to admit things that I know will hurt others or even hurt myself. But, just because I can’t admit them doesn’t mean they don’t exist. Avoiding the “elephant in the room” and pretending it’s not real altogether is probably the most comforting yet destructive coping mechanism there is out there. But, what I’ve learned this year is…

LESSON #3: BOTTLING IN THE TRUTH DOES MUCH MORE DAMAGE THAN GOOD. AVOIDING IT MAY MAKE YOU FEEL BETTER TEMPORARILY, BUT THE TRUTH WILL ALWAYS CATCH UP TO YOU  , AND WHEN IT DOES, IT SURE WON’T BE PRETTY.

Unfortunately, 2016 decided to slap me in the face with this one, big time. And let me tell you, this was one I reaaaally didn’t want to learn. But, I guess I’d been lucky enough to avoid facing the truth for way too long. Did I want it to come out? Hell no. But, I know now that it was long overdue.

What I can say, is that they’re 300% right when they say that the truth sets you free. Nothing gives you a bigger sigh of relief than confronting something that you’ve been hiding for quite some time. Hopefully, I’ll take what this year has taught me to heart and start saying what’s on my mind right away- something that’s probably easier said than done. If you find yourself in the same boat that I have been more times than I count, and you find yourself contemplating whether being honest is worth it-trust me it is.

Learn from my mistakes. Whether its speaking out about something that has been bothering you ,or confessing to something you did but shouldn’t have- telling the truth is always worth the risk. Sure, you might hurt someone you care about in the process or embarrass the shit out of yourself, but the consequences will only get worse the longer you wait.

Leave a Reply

