Lesson #2: Rain or Rainbow ? 

Over the years, my life has manifested itself as one gigantic game of Jenga. I try and try so hard to keep everything together for as long as possible, but one bad move and it’s game over. You see, I’m actually quite terrible at this game. Two rounds in and I’m already drawing up a sweat, praying to the Jenga gods to at least wait until my next turn to make me look like an idiot. Maybe it’s because I wanted to challenge myself, or maybe I’m just plain old dumb ( my bet’s on the second one),  but I always seem to pick the most challenging block to remove. And I pay the price for it. Every. Single. Time.

The sad part is that my decision making skills in real life are no different. Bad choice after bad choice leads me to my ultimate demise- a life that comes crashing to pieces more times than I can count. In 2016 alone, I can think of at least 4 really bad ruts I had been stuck in. What’s worse is that when it rains, it fucking pours. One bad thing , leads to the next and the next , until I’m on the floor in tears googling if human hibernation is a plausible thing ( still not sure about this, so if you know something I don’t please share ).

I know that bad times are a normal part of life. But , that doesn’t mean they suck any less. The sense of pure hopelessness and defeat is heart breaking. Contrary to this sort of romanticized notion of suffering common among books or television shows , a rough patch is exactly that – rough. There’s nothing beautiful to be found in depression or gloom. Sure , every high and low in life has something to teach you, but sometimes it’s okay to realize that your current feelings, as shitty as they may be, are 100% valid. It’s okay not to be okay. Because , to cite every single inspirational quote known to mankind : Things will get better.

LESSON #2 : BAD MOODS , JUST LIKE GOOD ONES , ARE NOT PERMANENT. YOU MAY NOT BE OKAY TODAY , BUT SOMETIME DOWN THE LINE , YOU WILL BE.

We all get caught in torrential downpours every once in a while. What we fail to remember , ( cue the corniness) , is that even the heaviest of rainfalls have the potential to bring out the brightest of rainbows. Hope for the present may be far from reach , but hope for the future is always attainable and sometimes it’s the only  thing that keeps us going.

Leave a Reply

